Simply Delicious Carnitas

IMG_0560

I adore slow cooked food. Whether it’s 2 hours or 10 hours, the process of slow cooking anything is just the bees knees. First of all, it is pretty easy. You do the prep, you steadily combine ingredients, in some cases you just throw them in all at once, and you let it cook, more or less untouched, for as long as it needs. After it is simmering on the stove or cooking in the oven, you get to smell all the delicious components mingle, become stronger and more complex until everyone in the house is sitting around asking, “Is dinner ready yet!?”. I actually go a little bonkers because I need to occupy myself so that I don’t just sit and stare at the pot waiting for it to be ready.. which,on occasion, has been known to happen.

IMG_0545

The original recipe came from a blog known as the Homesick Texan, but I stumbled upon this recipe on Smitten Kitchen. Well, I stumble upon a lot of things on this blog, its awesome, and it all looks beyond tasty. The carnitas recipe stood out to me though cause it was a slow cooked style recipe and I had been saying for weeks that I wanted to make either carnitas or barbacoa. What a treat it turned out to be! Done very simply, and topped with a little avocado, lime, and cilantro, well, that is all I need to be happy for a night. It also got served to a few of my friends family members, with which one of them responded, “Ramon.. you can get married now.” I think that means they turned out pretty good.

IMG_0540

Carnitas
3 lbs. Boneless pork shoulder or butt, cut into 2 inch cubes
1/2 cup orange juice
1/4 cup lime juice
4 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp salt

Combine all the ingredients in in a large pot or dutch oven. Cover with enough water to barely cover the top of the meat. Bring to a roiling boil, then turn down the heat and let simmer uncovered for 2 hours. No need to stir during this time. After letting it simmer, bring it back to a boil, stirring occasionally, until all the liquid has evaporated, and there is nothing but rendered fat left. This takes around 45 minutes. The meat at this point is going to be ready to fall apart, so stir gently and you will get a nice mix of shredded pork and little chunks. Once the liquid is all gone, you can go on to brown the meat just a tad. A little browning makes the meat look even better.
Serve the finished product on warmed corn tortillas and any extras that you would like.

IMG_0562

One thought on “Simply Delicious Carnitas

  1. I really might try this! I’m so bad with cooking, but this seems so easy and uninvolved that I really have no excuse not to. Plus, I do REALLY love avocado!

    Like

Leave a Reply

